73th Acht of Bladel

The oldest classic race for juniors in the Netherlands
28th till 30th of June 2024
output-onlinepngtools (5)

73th Acht of Bladel

The oldest classic race for juniors in the Netherlands
28 juni t/m 30 juni 2024
output-onlinepngtools (5)

73th Acht of Bladel

output-onlinepngtools (6)
June 28nd untill June 30th 2024



History of the Acht van Bladel


The cyclists are ready for the start of the very first. Acht van Bladel. Marius Romenijnsen (Eersel), member of Het Snelle Wiel, will win the race.

1949 Bladel Start Acht van Bladel


Gerard Wesseling from Halfweg wins the Acht van Bladel on the Helleneind right in front Wim Jansen from Noordwijkerhout, Cor Schuling from Den Haag, Dick Groeneweg from Numansdorp, Tom Brekelmans from Eindhoven (not in picture), and G. Deegens uit Middelburg. Behind the microphone, we find Cor Wijdenes. On the right, the arrival judge Jan Klip can be found, alongside Jan van Gorp (Het Snelle Wiel).

(Foto: De Moor)


Arie Nooteboom from Rotterdam beats Piet Buuts from Keldonk in the Acht van Bladel. The finish line was found on the Sniederslaan, right in front of the Tielemans home. Jan van Gorp from Het Snelle Wiel on the left, with Gerrit Soontients (arrival judge) and Cor Wijdenes on the microphone. Next to them we find Sjef Jansen, a board member of Het Snelle Wiel.

(Collectie Heemkundige Kring Pladella Villa)


Theo Kraayvanger honouring the Acht van Bladel winner Ab Klayssen from Biervliet. In the back, we see Harrie Groenen and behind the microphone we find Ad van de Meulenreek from Geffen.

1967 Bladel huldiging winnaar Acht van Bladel Ab Klayssen 2


In 1974, Leo van Vliet beats Guus Bierings near the end of the race by throwing his bike in front of his. Arrival judge Gerrit Ras is right on top of it. This way, we don't need a photo finish!


Johan Lammerts (Bergen op Zoom) wins from Hans Baudoin (Valkenswaard) near the finish line.


While finishing as runner up the year prior, Gert Jakobs from Emmen wins the Acht van Bladel 1982, right in front of Gerard Dekker (Hoogeveen) and Erwin Martens (Haarlem)


Michel Zanoli wins the Acht van Bladel two years in a row. After 1985, the rider from Wilnis is also the fastest in 1986 - behind John can de Ameele and Antony Theus from Bergelijk.


Jebbe Sluiter from Gemonde wins the Acht van Bladel in 1998, behind Theo Eltink from Westelbeers, and Hans Dekkers from Eindhoven. Marius Romeijnsen, the very first winner of this race, joins them on the stage.


It's not common for a cyclist to pass the finish line by foot. Even more uncommon is the fact that this cyclist ended as 13th after a fall, and still gets honoured on the stage. This happened to Koen de Kort on the final day of the Acht van Bladel in 2000. His fall on 50 meters before the end couldn't ruin his other performances during the other races. Koen de Kort has been a professional cyclist for years now.


In 2004, the Acht van Bladel turned international with cyclists from Sweden, the UK, Belgium, Denmark, and Ireland. Geraint Thomas wins the first stage of the race.


Steven Kruiswijk was the fastest in the 4th. stage in 2005. This 18-year old rider from Nuenen wins with behind him, Yondi Schmidt. Hier klopt hij zijn laatste tegenstander Yondi Schmidt.

(Foto: Theo van Sambeek)


Not only does this rider wins the yellow jersey, but also the green and white jersey! Danny van Poppel wins these in 2010.an Poppel. He thanked the final stage of the race for his victory.

(Foto: Theo van Sambeek)


In 2012, Mathieu van der Poel showed his skills and talent in the International Acht van Bladel. From winning the first stage of the race to clocking the fastest time in the time trial, it was no surprise he won them all.

(Foto: Theo van Sambeek)